Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Show All Answers
Business Personal Property is everything which is not included in the term "real property." Business Personal Property includes furniture, equipment, machinery, security devices, signs and personal effects not otherwise exempt by law. Personal Property is defined in § 39-1-102(11), Colorado Revised Statutes.
For more information, view the Property Valuation and Taxation for Business and Industry (PDF) (a brochure provided by the State of Colorado Division of Property Taxation).
Business Personal Property is taxable if it is used for the production of income (that is: used in a business, organization, or rental property) at any time during the year, unless specifically exempted from taxation.
Colorado law states that January 1st is the assessment date. The owner of the property (as of January 1st) is considered the owner for that entire assessment year. If a property changes ownership during the year it is up to the buyer and seller to prorate the taxes.
Neither the Assessor nor the Treasurer is involved in or responsible for this process. It is also the responsibility of the taxpayer to notify the Assessor and the Treasurer when a business changes ownership. If a business closes after the January 1st assessment date, the taxpayer is also responsible for the entire year and for notifying the Assessor and Treasurer of the closure.
The County Assessor’s duty is to value personal property for property tax purposes. The property owner files an annual Declaration Schedule with the Assessor, listing information regarding the Business Personal Property. This allows the Assessor to estimate the actual value of the property. Actual Value (Market Value) is estimated by following the guidelines and procedures set forth by the State of Colorado.
For more information visit the Colorado Division of Property Taxation Personal Property page.
The Assessor multiplies the actual value of the personal property by the assessment rate of 29% to arrive at an assessed value. The assessed value is then multiplied by a tax rate (mill levy) to calculate the taxes for the property.
Proration is not generally allowed. Business Personal Property owned on the assessment date of January 1 is taxable for that entire year, even if the status of the property changes or the property is destroyed, transferred or removed from the state during the year.
Owners of Business Personal Property must declare the taxable property they own to the Assessor.
Owners of taxable Business Personal Property such as equipment, machinery, furniture, security devices, signs and personal effects not otherwise exempt by law, if the total actual value (market value) of the personal property is greater than $50,000.
Note: market value as approximated by an appraisal, using state guidelines and procedures.
The Assessor mails Declaration Schedules on or before January 1, and taxpayers must return them to the Assessor by April 15. It is the responsibility of the business owner to obtain and file a Declaration Schedule, if one is not received in the mail.
Effective January 1, 2022, if the total actual value (market value) of your Business Personal Property located in Elbert County is $50,000 or less, you are not required to file this form.
If an owner’s Business Personal Property filed in Elbert County exceeds a total value of $50,000, all the property is taxable including the initial $50,000, also, in the event additional assets are put into use which increases the total actual value of the personal property to an amount greater than $50,000, the owner must again file a declaration schedule.
To avoid a possible misunderstanding regarding whether a Declaration Schedule must be filed, new businesses, first time filers, and taxpayers who are unsure as to the actual value of their personal property are urged to contact the Assessor by email or by calling 303-621-3101 and provide an itemized listing of their Business Personal Property.
Any violation of the regulations contained in the Elbert County Regulations and Ordinances. Common violations include:
Some of these issues are complicated and often vary by situation. Please use the links provided below for a general description of some of these issues. You may contact the Planning Department at 303-621-3136 or by email to ask questions regarding your specific situation. You may also call 720-595-3610 and ask for the Zoning Compliance staff.
If there is a violation of the Land Use Code, the Code Compliance staff member will notify the Planning Department and have the owner/tenant seek approval for the use that is not currently allowed. This can sometimes take several months to accomplish.
Home occupations are considered an accessory use and are intended to allow property owners the full use of their property while maintaining the integrity and character of the neighborhood. All home occupations must follow certain requirements as described in the Elbert County Zoning Regulations
In general, short term rental is not allowed unless the use has received approval from the Community & Development Services Department. The increased popularity of vacation rental sites such as VRBO, AirBnB, Home Away, etc., has brought this issue to the forefront of many planning departments across the country. Depending on the zoning district, an owner may seek approval for this use via a Special Use by Review process through the Planning Department.
The term “tiny house” usually means one of two things: 1) an RV/trailer/house on wheels, or 2) a small house on a foundation, whether prefabricated (manufactured/modular) or built on site. A “tiny house on wheels” is considered a Recreational Vehicle (RV) and is regulated by the Land Use Code instead of the Building Codes. There are restrictions on where and when they can be lived in. They are not considered permanent homes and cannot be occupied year-round. An RV (including a “tiny house on wheels”) can be used as temporary living quarters for recreational, camping, travel or seasonal use. An RV can either have its own motor power or be mounted on or towed by another vehicle, including camping trailers, fifth wheel trailers, motor homes, travel trailers and truck campers. Other uses of an RV include a temporary dwelling during construction when permit is obtained.
A small house on a foundation is required to meet the regulations of the International Residential Code. Please contact the Building Staff to discuss these requirements at 303-621-3135.
No. Elbert County does not have a housing code that regulates maintenance and repairs of rental properties. The County is limited to enforcing minimum structural standards of existing buildings.
No. The County does not have a property maintenance code. Due to several factors including the agricultural nature of the County, there are no regulations as to how high weeds grow, or if a lawn is mowed, or whether a sidewalk is cleared of snow.
The use of RVs as permanent housing has become an increasingly common situation and problem in Elbert County. For the most part, a property owner may "recreate" on their property for 30 days in a calendar year. The RV must then be closed up and placed in a state of storage.
A properly licensed and registered RV can be stored on a property that has a residence. The RV registration and the property owner must be the same person/entity.
Yes. The Elbert County Zoning Regulations limits the number of unrelated people allowed to occupy a residence located in unincorporated areas of the County. In unincorporated Elbert County, a single family residence may be occupied by a “family” as found in the definitions.
A vehicle is considered junk when it is unregistered, inoperable, unlawful or dismantled. Only those vehicles that do not qualify as junk vehicles and are owned by the occupant of the home may be stored outside as long as the vehicles are licensed, insured and operable.
A "junk vehicle" is described as follows: A vehicle that is inoperable (unable to move under its own power), or is partially or totally dismantled or has all or portions of its body work missing or substantially damaged or is not registered with the State of Colorado as required by C.R.S. § 42-3-103 or by C.R.S. §§ 42-12-401 and 42-12-402, and/or the number plate assigned to it is not permanently attached to the vehicle as required by C.R.S. § 42-3-202 or is lacking proper equipment to the extent that would be unsafe or illegal to use on public road rights-of-way or otherwise not equipped with lamps and other equipment as required by C.R.S. §§ 42-4-202—42-4-227. This definition does not include implements of husbandry, farm tractors, farm or ranch equipment or vehicles customarily operated in a farm or ranch operation.
Outdoor storage of junk and debris is not allowed. Any accumulation of appliances, car parts, old furniture, scrap materials, etc. that is a visual blight to the area must be removed from the property or stored inside a structure on the property. Only items that are accessory to the residence, for example a barbeque grill, patio furniture, etc., is allowed.
If the issue is storage of junk and debris, or outdoor storage, Code Compliance staff will investigate Report a Concern. If the issue is garbage and trash, The Colorado Department of Health & Environment investigates illegal dump sites. They can be contacted at 303-692-3408. For reference, a “dump” is a place where people dump and/or bury trash that should be taken to an appropriate sanitary landfill site to monitor for odors, air emissions and ground water.
You must first seek approval from the Elbert County Community & Development Services Department. Most zoning districts allow one (1) single-family dwelling per lot/parcel. The Zoning Regulations provides several options for additional accessory dwelling units, under specific conditions. Accessory uses and structures must be 1) secondary and incidental to the principal use of the property and 2) located on the same lot with the principal use.
A dwelling unit is a building or portion thereof used for residential occupancy. What is an illegal dwelling unit? An illegal dwelling unit is one built or occupied without obtaining the necessary land use approvals and/or a proper building permit. In some circumstances it is possible to make an illegal dwelling unit legal. Please contact the CDS at 303-621-3136 or email and the Building Department at 303-621-3140 for details. You may also call 720-595-3610 and ask to speak to the Zoning Compliance staff.
Horses for the use of an occupant, and/or their guests are allowed in most residential zoning districts provided the number of horses does not exceed one horse per one half-acre as outlined in Article XIV Section (C) of the Elbert County Zoning Regulations.
Household pets inclusive of, but not limited to, dogs and cats shall be permitted in all zones allowing for residential use provided that not more than four (4) animals of more than four (4) months of age are kept by the property owner/occupant of any residential unit. Please see the Zoning Regulations (PDF) regarding other animals.
No. A single-wide mobile home or similar structure that was not constructed or intended for the specific purpose or use as a storage building is prohibited from being converted and used as a storage building in Elbert County.
Sign regulations are intended to provide the public with an opportunity for safe and effective identification of uses and locations within the County balanced with the attempt to avoid clutter and protect visual appearance and maintain property values. Signs are regulated pursuant to ECZR Article XI.
The primary number that will show up for Emergency Reverse Notifications is 866-419-5000, although the system does have backup numbers, if for some reason this number were out of order. Weather Warning Notifications will show up from the number of 800-566-9780.
Don’t assume your phone number is in the system! Sign up online and create and account by visiting the CodeRED website. Creating an account can assist you by selecting what specific notification types you want to subscribe to, select the communication medium you would like (SMS text, email, phone, app) and update your contact information in the event it should ever change. Those who do not have internet access may call 303-805-6132, Monday through Thursday between 7:30 am to 5 pm to sign up for this service.
Yes. On the CodeRED website, submit your first two numbers, then start a new sign-up page and submit two more numbers, repeating as necessary. You may use the same name and address for each, as long as the phone numbers are different.
You may choose to opt out of receiving weather alerts. To opt out of CodeRED notifications go visit the CodeRED Opt Out website or call 866-939-0911.
Weather-related emergencies are the primary use for a CodeRED alert, but County officials will also utilize the system during public safety emergencies. Examples of these include:
Yes, if authorized personnel feel it is necessary.
The CodeRED dialing system attempts each number up to three times in the first round of calling in order to maximize the number of delivered messages.
No. CodeRED delivers recorded messages to a live person and to answering devices.
At the bottom right of the sign-up form screen, check the "TDD/TTY" box.
Yes! Register any cell phone number using 10 digits; do not add "1" in front of the phone number.
No. If you are unsure, sign up online.
No. Only residents located in an affected area will be notified.
Yes, if you sign up online. On the data collection page, click on the box to the right, "Switch to Business Data" and enter business information. After you have signed up, your business number will be entered into the system as a business number.
This will not affect you getting notified at any home or cell phone numbers you have already entered into the system.
Because CodeRED has a feature that can be used to alert people living in manufactured or mobile homes, such as if high winds are expected that could put you in danger.
An OWTS permit is required for new installations, expansions, and repairs (with some exceptions). To obtain a permit, the following will be required for new systems/new soil treatment areas (STA’s): completed permit application, payment of permit fee, system design, soils information, test pit logs, and a site plan. Elbert County Public Health department will accept the applications at our Environmental Health Office. ECPH staff will then review the information and possibly make a site visit. If the application, soil report and design (if applicable) meet our requirements, ECPH will issue a permit to construct, expand or repair the OWTS.
Septic Permit Application 2021 (PDF)
A Colorado Licensed Professional Engineer must design a system if any of the following occur: (a) the following soil types are identified within 4 feet below the depth of the proposed soil treatment area (STA): 0, 3A, 4, 4A, 5, R-O, R-1, R-2; treatment levels TL2, TL2N, TL3, and TL3N as specified in tables 10 and 11 of Regulation O-17 (b) groundwater, bedrock, or other limiting layer is present within 4 feet below the depth of the proposed STA, (c) the ground slope at the area of the proposed STA is greater than 20%, or (d) the proposed system is a commercial system, (e) the proposed system utilizes pressure distribution.
Contact your local health department (ECPH) for a final inspection. If the new system was designed by an engineer, a final inspection and a letter of approval from the engineer must be submitted to ECPH for approval. The building department must receive approval of the installation of the Septic system from ECPH before a CO can be released.
Yes, you must schedule a time to take the OWTS exam at the ECPH office. The exam is open book. A passing score is required. ECPH must conduct a pre-site visit, prior to any installation. If it is an engineered design, it will require the final approval of the engineer as well as Elbert County Public Health.
Review our Use Permit FAQS
The seller of the property is required to obtain a use permit prior to the sale of the property, an inspection must be done by a licensed inspector in Elbert County to accompany the application for the use permit.
Licensed OWTS Pumpers - PDI (PDF)
Elbert County Public Health (ECPH) has a minimum lot size of 10 acres with a well. The minimum lot size without a well is 5 acres.
Elbert County Public Health (ECPH) requires that septic tanks be inspected every four years and pumped when scum and sludge accumulate to greater than 25% of the effective volume of the tank. Dosing tanks shall be inspected and pumped if sludge accumulation is observed. If your OWTS receives higher than average use as determined by your licensed cleaner, you may want to consider a more frequent pumping interval. All pumping and evaluation of septic tanks should be done.
Licensed OWTS Pumpers 2021 - PDI (PDF)
Elbert County Public Health recommends that an STA be left largely untouched by homeowners. Irrigated landscaping is not recommended, since it has the possibility to saturate an STA causing the septic system to fail prematurely. You may consider planting buffalo grass or other natural grasses which do not require irrigation. Mow any grasses planted on the STA area regularly. Horses or other livestock should not be placed on an STA, because compaction of the soils may occur causing premature failure of your absorption area.
Elbert County Public Health (ECPH) generally allows connection to the existing septic system, provided the owner notifies ECPH in advance, and ECPH approves the connection. An Alteration Permit application must be submitted to this office. An inspection of the new plumbing and applicable fee(s) is required. Prior to final approval, the existing record drawing of the system must also be amended to show new buildings and plumbing. For more information, contact Elbert County Public Health prior to starting your project.
Elbert County Public Health (ECPH) maintains records for existing septic systems, which contain record drawings identifying OWTS locations. Please keep in mind that ECPH may not have records of all septic systems due to age or permit status. In this case, it may be necessary to contact a licensed installer or a certified Use Permit inspector or surveyor to locate your system.
Licensed OWTS Installers 2021 - PD (PDF)
In this situation, it would be best to have the system evaluated by a licensed septic contractor.
If the damage is relatively minor and requires digging, such as a line or infiltrator repair. The repair will require a repair permit and need be done by a licensed contractor. All repairs will need to be inspected by Elbert County Public Health (ECPH) prior to being covered. If the damage is more extensive such as damage to the tank or extensive damage to the soil treatment area (STA), it will require a repair permit. The fees involved will vary according to the type of repair needed. Consult with your contractor and ECPH.
Only mammals can carry rabies. Traditionally, in Colorado, bats were the main source of rabies infections; however, in recent years the number of skunks testing positive for rabies has been rapidly increasing. Skunks now are the main source for rabies in Colorado. Other mammals can be infected with rabies from bats and skunks. Domestic animals such as dogs, cats, cattle, and horses can become infected by being bitten by a rabid wild animal.
People, pets and livestock can get rabies from animal bites or, rarely, from infected saliva getting into their eyes, nose, mouth or an open wound. Brain tissue can also be infectious and should not be handled.
Call your doctor immediately, and report the incident to your local health department; visit the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment website to find contact information for health departments. Treatment is available if administered in a timely manner.
The first sign of rabies is usually a change in the animal’s behavior. Animals may act more aggressive or more tame than usual. Nocturnal animals such as skunks, foxes and bats may be out during the day.
Rabid animals may stagger, tremble, or seem weak. Bats may be found on the ground, unable to fly. Rabid animals may appear agitated and excited or paralyzed and frightened. Sometimes, rabid animals do not show any signs of illness before death from rabies. If a wild animal does not run away when you approach it, it may be sick or injured. Do not try to help it. If an animal is acting strangely, stay away from the animal and call your local animal control office or the Colorado Division of Wildlife.
The only way to tell whether a wild animal has rabies is to test its brain. If a dog, cat, or ferret is alive 10 days after biting a person, the dog, cat, or ferret did not have rabies at the time of the bite.
Rabies is a viral infection that affects the nervous system of mammals, including humans. The disease is almost always fatal to both people and animals. Skunk rabies spreads rapidly and infects large numbers of skunks. The disease often spreads to other wildlife and pets, making human exposure a real concern. Humans and animals are much more likely to come into contact with skunks because they live on the ground.
Because skunks may seek shelter and food where pets and livestock live, there is much more opportunity for the pets or livestock to interact with skunks.
It is extremely difficult to see a bat bite, even on a human who knows where he or she was bitten. Bat teeth are so small they leave almost no mark behind, but still are able to transmit saliva and rabies. Skunk teeth also are small enough that it may be difficult to tell whether a pet has been bitten. Any animal that is found unattended or in close contact with a skunk or bat is assumed to be at risk for rabies, unless rabies testing of the wild animal shows it is negative.
Keep your pets current on rabies vaccinations, and avoid contact with wildlife. A licensed veterinarian will ensure your animals are properly vaccinated by keeping the vaccine at proper temperatures, ensuring your animal is old enough and healthy enough for vaccination, and keeping proper records.
Vaccinate all dogs, cats, pet ferrets, and mammalian livestock. Reptiles and birds cannot be infected with rabies, and small rodents are unlikely to come into contact with wild bats or skunks, so such pets do not need to be vaccinated.
Animals that are kept up to date on rabies vaccination are given a "booster" rabies vaccination, and isolated at home for 45 days (if the animal can be properly confined at home). Unvaccinated pets or livestock that have had contact with a known or suspect rabid animal must be either euthanized or placed in strict isolation from humans and other animals for a period of 6 months, at the expense of the owner. These requirements are designed to protect both the family of the pet/livestock owner and the community.
Never trap and relocate wildlife! It is illegal for the public to trap and relocate skunks, foxes, and many other types of wildlife in Colorado without a permit or other approval. Contact the Colorado Division of Wildlife for information on permitted activities.
Our current jail roster is available by calling our main information line at 303-621-2027. Be prepared to provide the inmate’s full name and date of birth.
To send mail to an inmate at the Elbert County Jail, please send it to:Elbert County JailInmate (inmate’s full name)P.O. Box 486Kiowa, CO 80117
Please note that all incoming mail is opened and inspected for any contraband or money.
The Detention Facility is located at 751 Ute Avenue in Kiowa. Visiting hours are 6 am to 10 pm daily. Inmates are allowed up to 20 minutes of visitation time per day.
A Turnkey Corrections kiosk is available for the public’s use in the jail’s lobby for visitation. The Inmate will remain in the pod during the visit. The public does not need to come to the jail for visitation. The public is able to conduct the visitation from the comfort of their own home or other location, by signing creating an account with the Inmate Canteen website. Please check the Inmate Canteen website for more information.
When an inmate is processed into the jail, all currency is taken from her/him and forwarded to her/him personal account for his use during incarceration. It is deposited onto his/her Inmate Canteen account. Family and friends may deposit money into an inmate’s account by two ways:
Only cash and credit cards are accepted at the Lobby Kiosk; no personal checks or money orders will be accepted. Money orders and cashiers checks can be mailed in. Additionally, it should be noted that no money or property may be exchanged between inmates.
Incoming calls are not accepted through the Sheriff’s Office telephone system. Calls can be scheduled and made through the Inmate Canteen telephone or video kiosk system, which are in each of the jail inmate pods.
Please call our main information line at 303-621-2027. Be prepared to provide the inmate’s full name and date of birth.
A Use Permit Program accomplishes the following:
A “Use Permit” expressly authorizes the use of an OWTS. It recognizes that the owner of an OWTS is responsible for proper use and maintenance of the OWTS.
In cases where the home is being sold or changing ownership, the owner or seller of the home will be required to obtain the “Use Permit”. In all other cases, the current owner of the property will be required to obtain the “Use Permit”.
An approved and certified “third party” inspector will do the inspection. That inspector will check the septic tank, electrical connections, controls and pumps (if the OWTS has these), and the soil treatment area (leach field). The inspector will need to inspect all items listed on the Elbert County inspection form and answer whether or not they are acceptable. If the Record Drawing is inaccurate or does not exist, a current drawing must be submitted with the inspection report.
All deficiencies with the OWTS found by the inspector will need to be repaired before ECPH can issue a Conventional use permit. Examples of these include but are not limited to: electrical connections that don’t meet code, damaged septic tank lids, pump not working, risers and lids below grade, etc. You will need to provide verification that the repairs have been completed: Non permitted repair verification form.
A repair permit application must be submitted to (ECPH). A final inspection of the repair must be performed by (ECPH).
The owner, seller, use permit inspector, or real estate agent may submit an application.
If the OWTS was originally permitted by ECPH, the record can be obtained from ECPH by calling our office. Phone 303-621-3144
If the OWTS is malfunctioning (typically with surfacing sewage), or tank is no longer water-tight, the owner of the property will be required to obtain a repair permit from ECPH and repair the OWTS. Repair permits are valid for 30 days unless otherwise approved.
ECPH will issue a “provisional” use permit. Per Regulation 43 a Permitted Repair Permit Application must be submitted to ECPH within 2 business days after receiving notice that the system has needed repairs.
Once you submit a completed application and inspection report, and the fee is paid, ECPH will review the application and report. If the application and inspection report are complete, ECPH will issue a Use Permit. Typically, the “turnaround” time will be no more than 2-3 business days. If the inspection report indicates that there are deficiencies with the OWTS that have not been repaired, ECPH will notify you of what needs to be done in order for ECPH to approve the application. Once those issue(s) are resolved, ECPH will issue a Use Permit.
A Use Permit for a sale is valid until the date of real estate closing or for a period of six months, whichever comes first. Once the property has sold, or the use permit has been issued for another triggering event (as outlined in question 3 above), the use permit does not expire until another triggering event occurs.