- Elected Offices
- Reappraisal 2021
In Colorado, Real property is reassessed every other year (odd years 2017, 2019, 2021 etc.). The following intervening year the value will remain the same unless there has been a change affecting the value and/or use of the property. In May of the reappraisal year, each property owner will receive a Notice of Value. This is not a tax bill. The Notice of Value (NOV) is to notify you of any change in your value and to inform you of your right to appeal this new value.
New in 2021! Property owners will receive a condensed version postcard of their Notice of Value and appeal form. eNotices allows a property owner to receive their valuation notices via email instead of regular mail. Property owners that sign up for eNotices will no longer receive a hard copy postcard or paper form Notice of Value. However, property owners will have the ability to unsubscribe from eNotices if they wish to receive a hard copy in the future. As an added benefit, property owners can view their traditional long form notice of valuation and appeal form and you will have a separate and distinct account. Each postcard notice has a distinct authorization code for eNotices. This is a convenient way to receive your notices and allows for easy access to your forms at your convenience. Click on the link below to get started.
Set up your eNoticesonline.com account.
Online Appeal Form
Property owners have the ability to appeal their value or classification online. Please see the Appeal Information page prior to filing an appeal. This will guide you and provide valuable information regarding the process.
Interactive Sales Map
Click the Spatialest link below to review the residential sales utilized for the 2021 Reappraisal.
2021 Notice of Value
The Assessor's office has completed the 2021 re-appraisal. Your Notice of Valuation Postcard was mailed on May 3, 2021. Colorado Law requires assessors to analyze sales data and "Adjust all qualified sales to the market conditions that existed on what is commonly referred to as the appraisal date." The appraisal date for this reassessment is June 30, 2020. While Colorado Revised Statutes specify an 18 month sales period, Assessors are allowed to go back in time in six month increments,up to 5 years. The Elbert County Assessor utilizes a data collection period of 24 months from July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2020