Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) Inspections

The Elbert County Sheriff's Office (ECSO) performs Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) inspections on and off site during business hours, Monday through Friday, 8 am to 4 pm.  If the vehicle cannot be brought to the Sheriff's Office, please contact Administration at 303-621-2027, during such hours, and a Sheriff's Office staff member will call Dispatch to arrange a time for a Deputy to meet you at the vehicle.  

The Elbert County Sheriff's Office also performs Certified VIN inspections on and off site, on Thursdays, 9 am to 2 pm only.

Colorado Law

Colorado law requires a VIN to be verified when:

  • A vehicle is brought into Colorado and is titled and/or registered out of state/country
  • A purchased vehicle is brought into Colorado and the title was issued from another state/country
  • A vehicle is transferred on a Purged Bill of Sale
  • A correction is required on the title pertaining to the vehicle description

Certified VIN Verification

A Certified VIN Verification is required when:

  • A vehicle requiring a surety bond to establish ownership
  • Vehicles that are homemade, rebuilt and/or reconstructed
  • Vehicles built from kits
  • Vehicles where the VIN has been removed/changed/altered/obliterated and must obtain a Colorado assigned ID number
  • Trailers weighing over 2000 pounds requiring an assigned trailer ID
  • Salvage vehicles being made roadworthy
  • Private/public tow bills

On-Site VIN Inspection Process

  • Regular:  $10.00
  • Certified: $50.00
  • Bring vehicle or trailer to ECSO (751 Ute Ave. Kiowa, CO 80117) and pay the fee at the Administrative office
  • An on-site Deputy will perform the VIN inspection.  If an on-site Deputy is not available, Dispatch will contact one

Off-Site VIN Inspection Process

  • Regular:  $25.00
  • Certified: $65.00
  • Call  the ECSO at (303)621-2027; choose option 0, and pay the fee over the phone
  • Dispatch will be contact by the ECSO to send a Deputy to your vehicle's location