Last update July 5, 2017

The County Commissioners recognize that the condition of our roads and necessary improvements are very important to our citizens.  Over the past two months they have published letters regarding this subject in the Prairie Times.  

The first letter focused on the notable contrast in condition and funding of our roadways and those in our neighboring counties. The following month they discussed the actions we are taking to determine what our total county-wide requirements are.   Those letters are provided here for your information. 

Part 1 of 3   
Part 2 of 3

In this month's edition of the Prairie Times, the Commissioners lay out their plans to prioritize and seek funding for our road needs over the coming years.  This final letter will be posted here once published.  County leadership plans to continue providing information on this and other topics important to our citizens.

Road Update

Road & Bridge plans to continue asphalt patching throughout the summer - work has completed on CR45. Our team is currently working on Elbert Road South of the town of Elbert in preparation of chip seal surfacing. Work will be prioritized per the pavement assessment (see 2017 Pavement Condition Survey below).

Roads scheduled for chip seal this summer include: 6 miles S of the town of Elbert to the county line, the remaining 2 miles of CR186 starting from where we left off last year and continuing East to CR17. Chip seal work is project managed through our Road & Bridge department. The county will go out for bid on these projects soon (6/22-6/29).

Did you know_trans
Chip seal is defined as a pavement surface treatment that combines one or more layer(s) of asphalt with one or more layer(s) of fine aggregate. In the United States, chip seals are typically used on rural roads carrying lower traffic volumes.

Did you know_trans
Podcast from Scientific American - What Causes Washboard Roads?

The Road & Bridge Department is currently working a rebuild of approximately 4.5 miles on CR118 South of Elizabeth (aka Heidemann Road in Franktown).

This rebuild process costs approx. $110,000/mile & includes:
• re-establishing ditches & proper drainage,
• increasing road elevation for snow mitigation,
• repairing or installing new culverts, &
• adding recycled asphalt treatment to the travel lanes

The rebuild runs East to CR9 & North to CR9-15 at the Chisholm subdivision entrance.

County Purchasing Info is available under "Online Services - Purchasing Info"
or Register for County purchasing notices here

2017 Pavement Condition Survey
Presentation to Board on 6/14/17
available via YouTube Channel

Rush Creek Wind Farm Article

Press Info & Releases - New Release posted 6/13/17

Bank Building Due Diligence Documents

Rabies Alert from Health & Human Services

Elbert County YouTube Channel

Elbert County Meetings are available on our YouTube Channel.